IMPORTANT MESSAGE TO OWNERS CONCERNING POSSIBLE 60% INCREASE IN PROPERTY TAXES FOR SHORT TERM RENTALS!!

IMPORTANT MESSAGE TO OWNERS CONCERNING POSSIBLE 60% INCREASE IN PROPERTY TAXES FOR SHORT TERM RENTALS!!

Aloha Owners,

The following is a message I received from a fellow professional property manager.  The matter is urgent and the clock is ticking.  Please continue to read.

“I wanted to be sure that everyone is aware of the current property tax proposal before the County council.  It’s budget time, and new property tax rates for the year 2019 – 2020 will be set for each category.  The vacation rental condos and homes are combined in the “Short Term Rental” property tax category.  During the April 3rd budget meeting, the budget committee chair proposed setting a rate that would be 60% higher than the current rate. This would align these units with Time Share units, with a property tax rate that is substantially higher than the hotels.

If you want to understand the thought process of the current council members, I’d suggest watching the April 3rd meeting.  There is a presentation at the beginning but the portion you’ll be interested in is within the last half.  Check for the April 3rd meeting at this link and click the video link to the far right:
https://mauicounty.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx

Unless there is a flood of testimony, this substantial increase will pass on through, as many of these owners are off-island and don’t vote in Maui County. 

What needs to be done?

1)      All owners should submit written testimony.  Send testimony via email to edb.committee@mauicounty.us.    You may also send testimony to Committee Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez at Keani.Rawlins@mauicounty.us.  

The other Economic Development and Budget Committee members and their emails are as follows:

Kelly T. King, Vice-Chair, Kelly.King@mauicounty.us

Riki Hokama, Riki.Hokama@mauicounty.us

Tasha Kama, Tasha.Kama@mauicounty.us

Alice L. Lee, Alice.Lee@mauicounty.us

Michael J. Molina, Mike.Molina@mauicounty.us

Tamara Paltin, Tamara.Paltin@mauicounty.us

Shane M. Sinenci, Shane.Sinenci@mauicounty.us

Yuki Lei K. Sugimura, Yukilei.Sugimura@mauicounty.us


2)  as many local people as possible should show up to testify in person at the meeting shown below.  Testimony is taken at the beginning of each meeting, so they’ll need to arrive promptly.  All meetings are held in Council chambers.                              

      April 24, 6:00pm

Other meetings will be posted and can be viewed here:  MauiCounty.us/agendas                           

3)      4)      Call each council member and try to arrange a personal meeting or phone discussion with them.  They all seem to believe that hotels provide jobs, but condos and short term rental homes do not. 

The current real property tax rates are here: https://www.mauicounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View/112816/2018-Tax-Rate

THE COUNCIL CHAIR HAS PROPOSED TO INCREASE THE SHORT TERM RENTAL RATE FROM THE CURRENT PRICE TO THAT OF TIMESHARES.

Make your voice heard today!

Leave this user inn place Ann had a number of posts that should stay attributed to her.

Leave a Reply